top of page

Saving Hope (also known as Bentley)

Update: SAFE! Last October 2015, I started on a journey to save Hope. I did this after a pitbull I helped rescue died in a car accident. As I was mourning Jose, I decided I wanted to honor Jose by rescuing any dogs my friends challenged me to rescue. My friends posted three dogs. The first two were easy compared to Hope.

When I learned of Hope, he was first just a sad picture on a shelter's Petharbor page. I was immediately moved to call the shelter and ask if they would take a better picture of This Dog (the name given by the shelter). They said they wouldn't take a new picture but if I wanted to take a new picture of him I could. So, I immediately got in my car and drove to the animal care facility about an hour away. When I got there, I gave them his Pet ID number and asked where he was located so I could take his picture.

"Oh, this dog," they said. "You can't take a picture of This Dog because he is an Evidence Dog." What's an Evidence Dog you ask? An Evidence Dog is a dog that is being held at a shelter while a court case goes on about the dog in question. "How long has he been here," I asked? "Nine months," they told me. So, that's when the journey to save a dog I named HOPE began.

As time progressed, I learned more and more about Evidence Dogs. First thing I learned is that their crime may or may not have actually happened. It's simply what was being reported by the parties involved. Sometimes, you get the truth I've been told. Secondly, Evidence Dogs are kept away from the general public. Hope's first animal care facility created the illusion that they were attempting to help Hope find a home, but as you read this story, the truth tells a completely different story. Not knowing where to begin, I started writing letters to find out exactly what happened. No one would answer any of my questions. I talked to everyone at the shelter and reached out to shelter managers and the people invovled in the court case. No one would respond. It was like they secretly wanted this dog dead. Maybe they weren't allowed to talk about an on-going case. The bottomline was no one was giving me ANY information. Finally, after breaking down in tears to some stranger over the phone, someone who knew what I had done for all those other dogs dished Hope's dirt. "Ted it seems he was involved in a bite incident. He apparently was living with a family. The police showed up to help resolve a family quarrel. In all the confusion, THIS DOG reportedly bit their 4 year old child's hand. It was not a disfuguring bite, but it did break the skin. The family is attempting to reclaim the dog despite the bite, but the courts have decided that the family isn't able to create a good home for the dog." I thanked the stranger over the phone profusely and then just sat there trying to think what to do next. Now listen, I'm responsible with my sharing so I had to decide whether or not it's worth my time, effort and financial resources to attempt to save this soul. The first thing I investigated was whether or not THIS DOG (again the name they gave the dog not me) had shown any signs of "bad behavior" while in the shelter environment. Every single person I talked to at the shelter reported that THIS DOG was well-behaved and did nothing to cause concern while in the shelter. Based on being in the shelter for 9 months and a clean bill of health, I felt it was worth continuing on the rescue journey. It was actually at that point I decided to start calling the THIS DOG...HOPE! The more and more I promoted HOPE, the more the stories started to change at the East Valley Animal Care and Control facility. I even had one shelter employee tell me that THIS DOG was vicious and killed another dog (make sure you read the entire story to find out what happened to her claims). This worker had no clue I had been investigating HOPE for the last three months where NO SUCH REPORTS existed. She said, "Yeah, he killed another dog and he is vicious. Why don't you spend your time attempting to help other dogs that haven't shown any bad behavior?" WTF. For three months nothing like this had been reported and now that I'm bringing a little bit of bad light on the shelter system for not allowing me to even take a picture of the dog or meet him, something was starting to shift internally at the animal care and control facility. In my opinion, they didn't like an outsider trying to help a dog that they had labeled in their system as an Evidence Dog. I also learned they treat ALL their Evidence Dogs exactly the same way. I was starting to realize that Hope was just a number on a computer. No one really knew this dog at all. One by one I had shelter volunteers starting to disparage my name on all the posts I had about Hope. It occured for me like the shelter staff was asking their volunteers to attack me online because they knew they couldn't do it with their City paycheck. They were defending the shelter's ineffiencies and their friend who was making negative claims about a dog I was attempting to save. They showed no concern for the dog. I never blocked so many people in my life from my Facebook account. Funny thing is, they were never commenting on actual INCIDENTS or EVIDENCE of anything. They were just defending their shelter friend. I'm curious why I never heard concern about the animal's welfare. Meanwhile, I was finally getting people interested in adopting Hope when East Valley delivered a devasting blow. Ted if you find anyone to adopt this dog, the person can not live inside of the city limits of Los Angeles.

​​So, in my efforts to stay on target, I now had to start expanding my search to reach every corner of our nation. I had to find someone outside the Los Angeles city limits to adopt him. Plus, that same adopter had to be okay with the fact Hope was reported to have biten a 4 year old kid in the hand and broke the skin on top of killing another dog and being vicious. For two months, I tried and tried to find someone to foster or adopt with no avail. The attacks from the shelter continued and no one seemed to offer any solid hope. More than 2,000 shares and more than 26,000 views of the post. Finally, East Valley Animal Care and Control called me to let me know that they were planning to euthanize HOPE on Monday. I thought it was strange that they called me. Maybe they were hoping my attacks of their shelter would stop. Maybe they were killing Hope simply because I was bringing so much negative attention to the shelter. I have no idea but I know now that i had to shit or get off the pot. Thousands of people viewed the posts, but only one person showed any interest. It was a dog trainer from the Boise Idaho area. Thinking outside of the box, I flew this person into Los Angeles the next day. When we got to the shelter, we were amazed at what we learned. While we were waiting for the free kennel offered by the shelter to be brought out from the back, the woman who told me that Hope had killed another dog showed up. She's said, "Oh, THIS DOG? This is the dog you were wanting to save? This isn't the dog that killed another dog. I'm not familiar with this dog." I just sat there in disbelief. Stunned. Angry. I wanted to scream. But I knew I just had to get the dog out from under their care so I didn't want to say anything. How many people had her lie effected? How much had her lie cost me? How much had her lie effected my emotional health? How many people thought of me as a horrible person for wanting to save a "visious killer?" I sat there and a whole new layer of the shelter system began to open up to me. Hope was just another number. This Dog was one of many. Since discovering Evidence Dogs, I've learned they say EXACTLY the same thing about EVERY Evidence Dog under their care because they claim to simply be too busy to actually check. Funny, everyone else checked for me. They said the dog was fine. The truth is that the shelter worked lied to me. Then, she had to cover up her lie to me. I caught her and then she had to cover up her lie by getting all her fans to cover her ass. Sometimes a shelter dogs best friend is someone sitting at home behind a computer. Sad...right? She claims she is just too busy to check on every single dog inquiry. So it appears they've decided to simply say the same thing about all their Evidence Dogs. Vicious and killed another dog. This is simply animal cruelty people. It's a felony. As a city employee can't simply take it upon herself to lie to the tax payers. You can't do that East Valley. I'm not going to let you get away with this. Hope is NOT dead. When I got home that night, HOPE was in the kennel and the dog trainer and I just looked at each other and said...now what? We looked at airlines and couldn't find an affordable way to get him back to Boise with her. So, after three hours of investigating everything, I said, "let's go." Long story short, it took me two days to get Hope up to Boise. I drove 19 hours through desert and snow. We stayed in a hotel and Hope laid on my arm most of the way. Eventually, through connections with a friend from high school, I found another dog trainer who had connections with a shelter called, "Pan Handle." The shelter is up in Idaho. Hope (was renamed by that dog trainer, Bentley). But that dog trainer has since disappeared too. I don't blame people for getting too busy. I'm grateful for his part in Hope's rescue. But at this point, I'm hooked on Hope. I'm happy Hope found a home at Pan Handle, but it's time for Hope to find a home as they report that he is starting to get anxious at the shelter and wants out. Hope is about 5 years old and loves to give you kisses. We are hoping to find a home someplace where he is the only dog with no small children for obvious reasons. I know those are high hopes, but we are praying someone is out there. If you are even considering helping Hope out here, please text me at 213-948-3165 and I will assist in anyway I can. We have a transport team that will work at getting Hope to any location in mainland United States. I've learned so much by helping rescue this dog, But it's just not me, there is literally an army of volunteers, trainers, networkers, transporters, etc. Rescuing Hope has taught me that there are few people I can trust in the world of dog rescue. It's sad, but it mimics every other facet of life. I gave my word to Hope. I don't have a dog rescue, but I have the heart of a dog rescuer. The time I've spent with this dog has been amazing. So much love and happiness abounds in that heart of his. The shelter has told me that he has done well with his four months of training, but that he was starting to get anxious about getting out. So, I started searching for a forever home for Hope/Bentley. UKAIH, CA enters the picture. We have found Bentley Hope a safe Forever Home. Will updated more soon. Thank you for reading Hope's story. I hope it has given you some perspective on what is happening out there in the world of shelters. We've got some good ones and some evil ones. It's PEOPLE that make the difference. Facebook thread:

https://www.facebook.com/Following-Hope-2643874388993068/




Who's Behind The Blog

Shelter Dogs Available By Breed in Southern California:
Affenpinscher
Afghan Hound
Airedale Terrier
Akbash
Akita
Alaskan Husky
Alaskan Klee Kai
Alaskan Malamute
American Bulldog
American Eskimo
American Foxhound
American Pit Bull Terrier

American Staffordshire Terrier

American Water Spaniel

Anatolian Shepherd

Australian Cattle Dog

Australian Kelpie

Australian Shepherd

Australian Terrier

Basenji

Basset Hound

Beagle

Bearded Collie

Beauceron

Bedlington Terrier

Belgian Laekenois

Belgian Malinois

Belgian Sheepdog

Belgian Tervuren

Bernese Hound

Bernese Mountain Dog

Bichon Frise

Black and Tan Coonhound

Black Mouth Cur

Bloodhound

Blue Lacy

Bluetick Coonhound

Boerboel

Border Collie

Border Terrier

Borzoi

Boston Terrier

Bouvier des Flandres

Boxer

Boykin Spaniel

Briard

Brittany

Brussels Griffon

Bull Terrier

Bull Terrier - Miniature

Bulldog

Bullmastiff

Cairn Terrier

Canaan Dog

Cane Corso

Carolina Dog

Catahoula Leopard Hound

Cavalier King Charles Spaniel

Chesapeake Bay Retriever

Chihuahua

Chinese Crested Dog

Chinese Sharpei

Chow Chow

Cirneco dell Etna

Clumber Spaniel

Cocker Spaniel

Collie - Rough

Collie - Smooth

Coton de Tulear

Curly-Coated Retriever

Dachshund

Dalmatian

Dandie Dinmont Terrier

Doberman Pinscher

Dogo Argentino

Dogue de Bordeaux

Dutch Sheepdog

Dutch Shepherd

English Bulldog

English Cocker Spaniel

English Coonhound (Redtick)

English Foxhound

English Pointer

English Setter

English Shepherd

English Springer Spaniel

English Toy Spaniel

Entlebucher Mountain Dog

Eurasier

Feist

Field Spaniel

Fila Brasileiro

Finnish Spitz

Flat-Coated Retriever

Fox Terrier - Smooth

Fox Terrier - Wirehaired

French Bulldog

German Pinscher

German Shepherd Dog

German Shorthaired Pointer

German Wirehaired Pointer

Glen of Imaal Terrier

Golden Retriever
Gordon Setter

Grand Basset

Griffon Vendeen

Great Dane

Great Pyrenees

Greater Swiss Mountain Dog

Greyhound

Harrier

Havanese

HovawartIbizan Hound
Irish Setter
Irish Terrier

Irish Water Spaniel

Irish Wolfhound

Italian Greyhound

Jack (Parson) Russell Terrier

Japanese Chin

Kangal

Karelian Bear Dog

Keeshond

Kerry Blue Terrier

Komondor

Korean Jindo

Kuvasz

Labrador Retriever

Lakeland Terrier

Landseer

Leonberger

Lhasa Apso

Lowchen

Maltese

Manchester Terrier

Maremma Sheepdog

Mastiff

Mexican Hairless

Miniature Pinscher

Munsterlander

Neapolitan Mastiff

Newfoundland

Norfolk Terrier

Norwegian Buhund

Norwegian Elkhound

Norwich Terrier

Nova Scotia Duck Retriever

Old English Bulldog

Old English Sheepdog

Otterhound

Papillon

Parson (Jack) Russell Terrier

Patterdale Terrier

Pekingese

Petit Basset Griffon Vendeen

Pharaoh Hound

Picardy Sheepdog

Pit Bull Terrier

Plott Hound

Podengo Portugueso Pequeno

Pointer

Polish Lowland Sheepdog

Pomeranian

Poodle - Miniature

Poodle - Standard

Poodle - Toy

Portuguese Water Dog

Presa Canario

Pug

Puli

Pumi

Queensland Heeler
Rat Terrier
Redbone Coonhound
Rhodesian Ridgeback
Rottweiler
Saluki
Samoyed
Schipperke
Schnauzer - Giant
Schnauzer - Miniature
Schnauzer - Standard
Scottish Deerhound
Scottish Terrier
Sealyham Terrier
Shetland Sheepdog
Shiba Inu

Shih Tzu

Siberian Husky

Silky Terrier

Skye Terrier

Soft-Coated Wheaten Terrier

Spanish Mastiff

Spanish Water Dog

Spinone Italiano

St Bernard - Rough Coated

St Bernard - Smooth Coated

Staffordshire Bull Terrier

Sussex Spaniel

Swedish Vallhund

Swiss Hound

Tennessee Treeing Brindle Hound
Terrier

Tibetan Mastiff

Tibetan Spaniel

Tibetan Terrier

Tosa

Toy Fox Terrier

Treeing Cur

Treeing Walker Coonhound

Vizsla

Vizsla - Wirehaired

Weimaraner

Welsh Corgi - Cardigan

Welsh Corgi - Pembroke

Welsh Springer Spaniel

Welsh Terrier

West Highland White Terrier

Whippet

Wire-haired Pointing Griffon

Yorkshire Terrier

Search By Tags
bottom of page